Arrivals and Departures

Found this on the wall outside the liquor store around the corner on Saturday morning. By Monday evening it had been removed or papered over with movie posters, but a new one had sprung up right down the street.

Picked up my print from Creativity Explored’s Tasty show. Kevin Roach’s take on a butcher’s pork cuts chart. I love the pig’s bashful expression.

Heading in the general direction of CCA, hoping to peek into Somarts on the way to see how the Day of the Dead exhibits are going, I stumble upon one of Evan Bissell’s portraits at the Portrero Ave. and Duboce intersection.

Considering I’ve been finding these all over, I shouldn’t have been so surprised, but then that’s part of the fun behind the placement of these works.

I hadn’t thought to grab one of the take-away maps mentioned on Intersection for the Arts’ website when I visited the gallery, so I can’t even identify the poet.

While you can always call the number on the accompanying plaque to hear a performance by the poet, I discovered that you can listen to an audio sample on the painter’s website as well. There’s a lot of cool background on the project to be found there: the “Thoughts on the Process” page is especially worth reading.

On the way back from CCA there’s an eerie moment where I see a plane flying way too low and get that panic rush thinking it’s gonna crash somewhere in the Mission or Downtown. It wasn’t until it swooped around in a broad circle that I remembered it was Fleet Week.

2 Responses to “Arrivals and Departures”


  1. 1 Walter Jeffries November 4, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    See this page:

    http://sugarmtnfarm.com/blog/2008/09/pig-cut-chart-poster.html

    for my original that Kevin’s pork cut was based on. The pig’s name is Archimedes. He is one of the lead boars in our farm’s pastured pig herds.

    Cheers

    -Walter
    Sugar Mountain Farm
    in the mountains of Vermont

  2. 2 hideoussunday November 4, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Wow – thanks Walter – now I have a name for my pig 🙂 It’s cool to see how they match up side by side. Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

