A New Day

I have no images to post, but the ones over on NPR’s site as well as those on the New York Times’ front page say it all. I would be remiss though if I let such an amazing moment pass without commenting on it. I am overjoyed that I was able to witness and take part in such a historic event in my lifetime. For African Americans, for all of us, it is long overdue, and after the last eight years this couldn’t come soon enough.

Briefly, I want to give a shout out to my good friend Dave, who has stuck to his guns, at first tirelessly typing away on his political blog and eventually taking an active part in the Democratic Party. Since 2004 he has documented every dirty trick in the Right’s playbook, underlined every lie (with helpful html links of course) and offered critical analysis and commentary: things that were sorely lacking in the media sideshows.

Just to affirm for everyone that knows me that I have not abandoned my rampant skepticism one bit, tonight isn’t all sunshine and roses. The other big test for our country, the battleground of which is right here in my home state, is Proposition 8, and sadly, as of this moment it looks like the voters will choose to take away the rights of their fellow citizens. I can only hope that the Chronicle is keeping their “smells like old men’s pants” tradition of crankiness alive and it’s just wishful thinking on their part considering that only 23% of the vote is in.

The duck may be lame, but it’s an easy out considering the soldiers, Iraqi casualties, and the victims of Katrina who have suffered under the ineptitude, poor judgment and moral vacuity of him and his advisors. But for once, for the first time in a good long while, I’m going to allow myself to be happy for this moment. Thanks America for proving you’re worth fighting for. Thanks to the rest of the world for putting up with us.

0 Responses to “A New Day”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

